Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

A Weather Anomoly

6a00e39336235e8834015431e47ce2970c-800wi

As I lay reading the newspaper yesterday afternoon, my afternoon sparkles were back. I have a variety of shiny surfaces, including a couple Swarovski crystal stars (lacking a piece or two) hanging in my office window; most of the year I have afternoon sparkles and rainbows on my office wall when the sun starts heading west toward sunset. It’s a small thing, but it gives me a jolt of joy.

I lose them just when the Pensacola weather starts hitting “hot and humid” on a regular basis. It’s a double whammy.

Although the temperatures remain hot, nightly temperatures are getting a little lower and the angle of light is different. The humidity is lower. The plants in the gardens know it; we have African iris blooming again, the white roses I love so much are back blooming their beautiful heads off, and the crepe myrtle is in full bloom, the swan song. I’ve even seen some magnolias blooming. It’s a little weird. I’m feeling like planting some tomatoes – last year we had tomatoes even through the coldest part of winter.

What is also a little weird, and there is a superstitious part of me that even hesitates to name it, I don’t want to invite it . . . we have had no hurricanes. It is mid-hurricane season, still plenty of time for angst, horror and destruction, but in spite of dire forecasts of one of the worst years yet, we have had not one single hurricane. Thanks be to God.

September 10, 2013 - Posted by | Gardens, Pensacola, Weather

2 Comments »

  1. Well, looks like now you’ve gone and done it! 🙂

    http://science.time.com/2013/09/11/meet-humberto-the-first-hurricane-of-the-season/

    Comment by Ken | September 12, 2013 | Reply

  2. LOL, no kidding! Greetings, Ken 🙂 And still, it is barely a hurricane and has no intentions of visiting fair Pensacola, thanks be to God.

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 12, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

