Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Revisiting Old Haunts and The Island Pub on Douglas Island

First, some random shots from our afternoon in various parts of Juneau, Alaska:

I didn’t take this photo, but I might be in it. I found it in the historical annals available from the Juneau-Douglas Museum. This is the old Evergreen Bowl pool, fed by glacier streams, where I learned to swim. This pool doesn’t exist any more; they have a new, indoor year-round pool:

EvergreenBowlPoolJuneauAK

Out at Mendenhall glacier; no bears this trip, only their crossing sign and a lot of stripped salmon šŸ™‚ Sleep well, salmon-fed bears!

00BearCrossingSign

Kayakers at Mendenhall Lake; this is across the lake from the glacier observation point

00KayakersOnMendenhallLake

The old Skater’s Cabin, where we used to go ice skating when the lake would freeze. Volunteers from civic organizations would get up early and take home-made snow-pushers, and make paths through the snow on the ice, and clear a large patch where people could skate. The ice was rough, not like an ice rink at all. If you could skate here, you could skate anywhere šŸ™‚

00SkatersCabin

AdventureMan insisted I stop at this quilt shop while he read brochures in the car, LOL! No, I am not kidding, I am only laughing because he pretended he loves to wait in the car while I visit another quilt shop.
00RaintreeQuiltShop

Dinner was at the Island Pub in Douglas, across the Gastineau Channel from Juneau. We used to go to this very same restaurant when I was a kid, then called Mike’s Place, only I never got to sit upstairs; I think that the bar was upstairs. Families went downstairs. They told us that they are thinking of renovating and opening the downstairs, too.

00TheIslandPubDouglas

They were packed. We were lucky to get there when we did. I think we were the only people who don’t live on Douglas Island, there were couples and families and friends meeting up after work, and a birthday group – all people who live on the island.

00InteriorIslandPub

The place has a spectacular view, especially around sunset when Juneau, across the channel, just lights up.

Our friend had said this is her favorite place to eat, and she was right! We had the smoked salmon spread, which was really good and really rich:

00SalmonSpread

When our pizza came, it was also delicious, but the salmon spread on the pizza strips filled us up. We each ate one piece of the huge pizza and packed up the rest to warm up for breakfast the next day. It was still delicious!

00DouglasIslandPizza

This was one of the best meals we had on our trip. Great beer, great wine, great food, great atmosphere, great view.

September 12, 2013 - Posted by | Adventure, Alaska, Beauty, Community, ExPat Life, Food, Living Conditions, Restaurant, Road Trips, Wildlife | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. You grew up in a beautiful place. Alaska is on my ‘have to go’ list. I can’t imagine a lake that freezes. Did you love ice skating?
    I’ve only ever done it once (indoors) but I was a roller demon and loved it!

    Comment by 'CC' Richards | September 12, 2013 | Reply

  2. I loved skating. I later took lessons, as a teen ager. It was a wonderful combination of speed, ballet and exercise, but so much fun you didn’t think of it as exercise šŸ™‚ We also could ski in our backyard; our back yard was a mountain šŸ™‚

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 13, 2013 | Reply

  3. That pool was sooo cold, I remember Mom had to dress me after swimming because I was shivering so badly! I can still remember how cold it was!!! The good news…I did learn to swim šŸ™‚

    Comment by DK Stanton | September 24, 2013 | Reply

    • I remember people saying it was fed by glacier streams. It was cold, I don’t think it had any heating at all. Wish you could have seen our pools in Qatar and Kuwait – they had CHILLERS. No, I am not kidding.

      Comment by intlxpatr | September 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

