Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Not The Day We Expected . . .

And once again, we have to laugh at God’s perfect timing.

I love Thursdays. Thursdays are the only day I have unscheduled. Once a month on a Thursday I have a meeting, but other than that, Thursdays are mine, and I luxuriate in them.

This morning I slept in an hour, then went leisurely through my Lectionary readings and scanned my e-mail. AdventureMan had other plans, but as we talked over our day, decided he wanted to come with me to the commissary. It’s fine with me. We have always had some of our best conversations in the car, and he doesn’t follow me around in the commissary asking questions like “do we really need this?” the kinds of questions that drive wives to homicidal thinking. There are some benches in the commissary, AdventureMan calls them the Old Farts benches, and he picks up his specialty bird seeds and supplies, then settles in to watch for me coming down the last lane.

Four minutes after we left the house, we got a call from our son, tied up on a case, that little Q broke his arm on the playground, could we go pick him up? We were only about five minutes from his school and were there in a flash. AdventureMan/BaBa rode in the ambulance while I drove over to our son’s home to care for the baby while Q’s Mom zipped to meet them at the hospital emergency room.

It took all day. Between the transporting and the paperwork and the x-rays and the setting of the bones (yep, two bones broken), by the time we all met up again, I no longer had any interest in hitting the commissary. I will try again tomorrow, God willing.

images

Meanwhile, we marvel at how wonderful it is to be here in Pensacola, to be on call for emergencies like this, and that we were just minutes from his school when our son’s call came. We love it that we can be useful in these emergencies, that we are here to help and that we can be helpful. Once again, we thank God for his perfect timing.

Meanwhile, Mom called and gave me no sympathy whatever. She laughed! “Remember your sister broke both her arms before she was six, and you both broke legs skiing!” she chortled. Ouch! I guess little boy Q comes from a family of risk-takers. His dad broke exactly the same arm in the same place jumping to grab on to a high bar once. His son said “I thought I could fly. . . but I can’t.” It’s in the genes. :-}

October 3, 2013 - Posted by | Adventure, Circle of Life and Death, Family Issues, Health Issues, Pensacola, Relationships, Survival

4 Comments »

  1. Double check that the commissary is open. They are all closed out here due to the nonfunding of the government.

    Comment by momcatwa | October 3, 2013 | Reply

    • I am so glad you said that – saved me a useless trip. Yes, thanks to the stall in congress, the commissary is closed.

      Comment by intlxpatr | October 4, 2013 | Reply

  2. Oh, poor Q. Praying he mends rapidly and is not in pain.

    Comment by Grammy | October 4, 2013 | Reply

  3. So far, so good! He slept well last night and doesn’t seem to be in pain. 🙂 And if we had gone to the commissary (I learn today) it would have been closed!

    Comment by intlxpatr | October 4, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

