Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

My Kind of Day . . .

Tropical Storm/Depression Karen blew herself out before she ever got to Pensacola. We had a glorious sunny Saturday, a Sunday with frequent spells of rain, and today dawned with high skies and sunshine. It looks like rain on the weather map, but the skies are blue. Even better, the temperatures have dropped. It is 62° as I write. Wooo HOOOOO!

2xradard4

This is an exciting time of the year for gardeners. Tomatoes blossoms will ripen into tomatoes once the temperatures go below 70° at night. For two years we have had our own tomatoes well into January, even February.

When we went downtown on Saturday, a beautiful breezy day, there was no market on Palafox – I guess they had been cancelled by fear of the storm blowing in. It was quiet, but a good lunch crowd.

Sunday I finished a charity quilt which turned out better than I had thought it would. That sounds funny, but sometimes I play around, try something new, and about three quarters of the way through I figure out that I am not happy with it. Sometimes it is hard to finish a quilt you don’t particularly lilke, but I have learned to press on, that sometimes once it is pieced, sandwiched and quilted, once it is washed, it looks better. That’s the story with this quilt. I had time on the rainy Sunday to finish up the quilting and binding, and once I washed it, I was happier with it than I had been. It is going to a youngster aging out of the foster care system.

00PensacolaBeachQuilt

Off to water aerobics and whatever else keeps me outdoors on this beautiful day!

October 7, 2013 - Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Charity, Community, Environment, Exercise, Living Conditions, Pensacola, Weather

2 Comments »

  1. Glad to hear the weather turned for the better. 🙂

    Comment by 'CC' Richards, Daytripper Sippers | October 7, 2013 | Reply

    • Today is gorgeous, and comfortable 🙂

      Comment by intlxpatr | October 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

