Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Rosettes in 2013

Tomorrow is the day I’ve been waiting for – a crisp, cool, dry day when I can make thin, delicate rosettes. We have so many special occasions coming up and I want to be able to share them with others.

00rosettes

The weather here is so erratic – from hot with high humidity and fog to sudden cold and clear. I knew the weather was changing last night when the Qatari Cat came running in to snuggle up close to me. Today I ran errands so I would have tomorrow all to myself – it takes a major portion of the day; you make the rosettes one at at time. Bless his heart, AdventureMan will take care of the new happy baby for me tomorrow afternoon so I won’t even have to rush. πŸ™‚

December 11, 2013 - Posted by | Advent, Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, Christmas, Cooking, Family Issues, Food, Weather |

7 Comments »

  1. oh, they look lovely! such a Christmas-y thing to see!

    Comment by adiamondinsunlight | December 12, 2013 | Reply

  2. Yum. I remember those delicious rosettes!!

    Comment by Grammy | December 12, 2013 | Reply

    • I made them today. Perfect dry crisp weather – LOL, I remember trying to find a cool crisp day in Doha to make them. πŸ™‚ Missing Christmas tea with you at the Ritz πŸ™‚ what fun!

      Comment by intlxpatr | December 12, 2013 | Reply

  3. I loved the tea at the Ritz tradition. Went to visit Tammy C. in Houston a couple months ago and she has THE Ritz China. Wow! That brought back some memories πŸ™‚ Gloomy and rainy here today….like you, I managed to sneak a little candy making in during the one or two clear dry days we had last week. Ready for some more typical TX weather!

    Comment by grammy | December 13, 2013 | Reply

    • LOL, the Ritz-Carlton china?? Holy smokes!

      What candy did you make? Pralines? πŸ™‚

      Comment by intlxpatr | December 13, 2013 | Reply

  4. To the anatomic pathologist in me, rosettes bring to bear Ewing’s sarcoma/PNET, neuroblastoma, medulloblastoma, retinoblastoma and ependymoma: morphologic shorthand for specific types of rather lethal tumors.
    Never knew rosettes were also an edible commodity until I read this entry, that is.
    I take it you are a master rosette maker in your community.

    Comment by Hommes pour Hommes Seulement | December 15, 2013 | Reply

    • Yes, after a lengthy apprenticeship I ultimately mastered the craft. I had no idea that cancer terminology shared the “rosette.” On the other hand, one of my readers from India shared a website with me that indicates these iron-rod-dipped-in-batter-and-sizzled delicacies are also very common in India, although mostly as a savory, not as a sweet. Interesting, huh?

      Comment by intlxpatr | December 15, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

