Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Love At First Sight: Gumbo Spoons

00GumboSpoon

Vanity, vanity. When I was in university, along with our studies, we all picked out our china patterns and silver flatware. We were preparing for the rest of our lives, which meant getting married. My parents gave me six place settings when I graduated university and through the years, AdventureMan and I added settings. We used the sterling all the time, military people entertained more formally. We haunted French and German antique markets and flea markets, seeking obscure pieces we didn’t have, it was fun.

These days, not so much. I haven’t bought any silver for years. We do very little formal entertaining. My sister and her daughters have taken to using their good silver for every day. I haven’t reached that point – yet – but I am thinking about it.

In spite of the fact that we are not often using our silver flatware, at the recent Christ Church Antique Fair, a woman celebrated having found gumbo spoons.

Gumbo spoons? I have a lot of pieces, mostly French and German. I have asparagus servers, yes, really! I have pieces for all kinds of exotic foods, but no. No, I did not have gumbo spoons. I had never even heard of gumbo spoons.

Gumbo spoons are a little larger than soup spoons, wider, rounder, a little deeper.

As it turns out, they don’t even make gumbo spoons in my sterling, but they had some beautiful ones that will go with my everyday flatware; these had shells on the base of the handles. They are beautiful, and I can hardly wait to eat gumbo in such grand style. These will be well loved – and well used!

February 3, 2014 - Posted by | Aging, Cultural, ExPat Life, Living Conditions, Pensacola, Shopping |

2 Comments »

  1. love the idea of gumbo spoons and love that beautiful aghabani napkin 🙂

    Comment by adiamondinsunlight | February 3, 2014 | Reply

    • Love that you have Candlelight in your life every day at every meal!

      Comment by intlxpatr | February 4, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

