Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

My New Closest Friend: FitBit One

My sister was bouncing around as I stayed at her house in August, and showed me the reason: she was wearing a FitBit. It is tiny, it clips right on to your clothing, and it syncs with your computer – or your smart phone – and helps you see your daily activity level.

Screen shot 2014-02-24 at 5.47.45 PM

 

You remember the 10,000 Steps program? I wrote about it in 2008? The FitBit counts your steps. It tells you how many flights of stairs you have gone up. (We bought a two story house on purpose, and today my FitBit tells me I am a CHAMP on the stairs. I guess it doesn’t know that going up and down the stairs is just what you do when you have a two story house, but hey, I get credit!) It is so much better than the pedometer, it counts better. It can also monitor my sleep, if I figure it out.

My sister loved this device; claims it keeps her motivated to keep moving, and all the latest studies show that we really, really need to keep moving. It is, literally, a matter of life or death. You move it – or you lose it.

I finally got one. I was kind of reluctant to have this little fitness nanny prodding me all the time, but actually, it is turning out to be more fun than annoying.

Thanks, Sis. Great recommendation.

February 24, 2014 - Posted by | Aging, Cultural, Exercise, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Health Issues, Interconnected, iPhone |

2 Comments »

  1. Cool! I’m thinking of getting one too 🙂

    Comment by plumpetals | February 25, 2014 | Reply

    • It’s so tiny, and gives so much information 🙂 You can track all kinds of things. I was relieved to know I sleep “efficiently” 🙂 You can wear it at night to track sleep, you wear it on a wristband.

      Comment by intlxpatr | February 25, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

