Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

41 Years on the Road Less Taken

We’ve had an unconventional road, AdventureMan and I, with all our moves, and most of our lives spent outside our own country. We celebrate 41 years this weekend, and AdventureMan asked me where I wanted to go.

 

“How about Alaska?” I joked, since we have a trip planned there, and we will be going to lots of fun places. He’s used to my answers, my non-sequitors. He asked me if I wanted a diamond, and I laughed and said, “no, just let me buy houses.” We’ve done well.

 

“No! To eat on our anniversary!” AdventureMan protests, knowing I can draw a celebration out for days or even weeks.

 

He named off a couple really nice restaurants and I said “I want to go out to Nine Mile Road.”

 

He just laughed. We both love this little seafood restaurant he discovered, the Seafood Platter Deli, sometimes called the Gulf Coast Seafood Deli.  It is unique, the food is fantastic, it’s this genuine little place not like any other place I have ever been. It has a podium by the huge chalkboard menu on the wall, and on the podium is a book where clients write their prayer requests. Every morning, before they open the restaurant, the staff prays together.

 

I am awed by this. It blows me away. We live in such earthly times; few people are really focused on practicing their faith. We are all so tempted by the bread and circuses offered by our consumer-driven culture.

 

The last time we were there, they had added new doors to the kitchen. No, I wouldn’t want them in my house, but for a seafood restaurant? They are perfect, somebody went to a lot of trouble to make these doors.

00DoorsAtSeafoodPlatter9Mile

 

00KitchenDoorAtSeafoodPlatterDeli

“I was hoping you would want to go there,” AdventureMan admitted, and we grinned. There’s a reason we’ve been married this long; we take the road less travelled – together.

Screen shot 2014-06-06 at 3.11.27 PM

June 6, 2014 - Posted by | Adventure, Aging, Alaska, Arts & Handicrafts, ExPat Life, Faith, Food, Living Conditions, Marriage, Pensacola, Relationships, Restaurant

6 Comments »

  1. Congratulations on 41 years – with every one a milestone. May you enjoy many more together! The other day Hubby and I were trying to figure out how many of our 34 we didn’t get to spend together and I think there were only 2. Considering the globe trotting he did vs what I did and that is really pretty amazing. Birthdays are a whole ‘nuther story-lots of those apart.

    Comment by momcatwa | June 6, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you, MomCat. It’s different for us, we were often apart on our anniversary. It’s such a luxury for us now to be together 🙂 I have photos of one anniversary in Kuwait where AdventureMan was on the phone with the company headquarters half our dinner . . . now, I have him all to myself 🙂

      Comment by intlxpatr | June 7, 2014 | Reply

  2. WOW! 41 years. Mashala 🙂 God bless the both of you and give you many, many, many more anniversaries.

    Comment by Razan | June 9, 2014 | Reply

  3. p.s. the doors are really cute for a fish restaurant 🙂

    Comment by Razan | June 9, 2014 | Reply

  4. Congratulations on 41 years of marriage

    AventureMan lets share the secrets of long successful marriages , i will start with mine ;
    If i am wrong i apologize and say i am sorry
    If i am right i also apologize and say i am sorry
    wha’ts yours ???

    Comment by daggero | June 14, 2014 | Reply

    • We laughed so hard, Daggero, AdventureMan says exactly the same thing you said, exactly. I just roll my eyes; you guys think you are being so funny, but it is a challenge, also, living with very smart men. 🙂

      Comment by intlxpatr | June 18, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

