Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

FitBit Sleep

One of the reasons I wanted to try the FitBit when I started, over a year ago, was to be able to keep a record of my sleep. What is startling to me is that I sleep a lot better than I think I do – most nights. I thought I slept great last night, woke up feeling rested, only to discover that FitBit tells me that I was restless and awake several times last night. I don’t remember that at all:

Screen shot 2015-06-04 at 8.21.00 AM

There is a part of me that tells myself FitBit is only a machine and can be wrong, and another part of myself that tells me we don’t always perceive ourselves and our actions impartially.

June 4, 2015 - Posted by | Fitness / FitBit, Health Issues

2 Comments »

  1. what? how does it know? what is this thing?

    Comment by Ms McKahsum | June 4, 2015 | Reply

  2. FitBit is now available almost everywhere, even Target stores, around $100 for the basic model which you clip on your clothes or wear as a wristband, and it counts your steps (the goal is 10,000 per day) and it counts the number of stairs you climbed. It calculates the number of calories you can eat to maintain a stable weight with your exertion. It also monitors sleep, although I don’t really use it according to the instructions. There is a piece in your computer that it sends your statistics to, and it shows up as daily, weekly or monthly. You can also track weight, glucose, calorie counts, and you can share with friends. I like it for that sleep graph I showed above.

    Comment by intlxpatr | June 5, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

