Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Kona Brewing Company: One of the Best Meals I have Ever Eaten

I’ve been doing reviews on Trip Advisor for ten years, starting with out trips into Zambia, and the Robin Pope Camps. From time to time, when I give a restaurant five stars, Trip Advisor asks me “Is this one of the best meals you have ever eaten?”

We’ve eaten some fine meals in our lives and travels, memorable meals, in Monterey/Carmel, in Germany and France, in the Middle East. Some stand out. Maybe only once or twice have I said “Yes” that this is one of the best meals I have ever eaten.

At the Kona Brewing Company, in a little marina on the back side of Diamond Head, I had one of the best meals I have ever eaten.

 

Brewery

 

It started with a ginger lemonade. Have I ever mentioned how much I love ginger beer? This was one of the strongest gingery drinks I have ever had, and it was magnificent.

GingerLemondade

 

My lunch was Shoyu Chicken, with spinach and carrots. The chicken was divine, with a teriyaki marinade and sauce. The spinach was equally wonderful, very garlicky. The rice was rice, but I was so far gone over the chicken and spinach that it just wouldn’t matter.

ShoyuChicken

 

My Kailua friend had a root beer.

Root Beer

 

With Shrimp Tacos

FishTacos

 

And a mango slaw, which she said was surprising and also, wonderful.

MangoSlaw

AdventureMan had fish tacos, which he thought very good.

ShrimpTacos

We left very happy people. It was one of the most delicious meals I have ever eaten.

March 15, 2016 - Posted by | Adventure, Cold Drinks, Eating Out, Food, Friends & Friendship, Living Conditions, Quality of Life Issues, Restaurant, Road Trips, Travel | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. thanks, but dang it, just a week or two late. just got back from Hawaii… had some poke, and better poke and did I mention the Poke? something about FRESH and Atmosphere- pushes things closer to the edge of amazing, doesn’t it. keep on with those juicy photos, gotta go get some dinner now…. 🙂 momentummikey

    Comment by MomentumMikey | March 15, 2016 | Reply

    • LOL there’s always next time, Momentummikey 🙂

      Comment by intlxpatr | March 15, 2016 | Reply

  2. Whoever would have thought? Another reason to add Hawaii to my list. Thanks foe the intel!

    Comment by Made in Rome | March 15, 2016 | Reply

    • It was a surprise to me! Hope you enjoy your trip, hope it’s soon 🙂

      Comment by intlxpatr | March 15, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

