Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

“We Didn’t Have a Refrigerator”

We were eating breakfast together, my Mom and I, when she dropped a bomb. I had no idea she could catch me by surprise that way. We’d been talking about fresh peaches, and preserves.

“When your Dad and I got married, we didn’t even have a refrigerator,” she said.

Not have a refrigerator? You can get married and not have a refrigerator?

“How did you get one?” I asked, still reeling from astonishment.

“Your Dad inherited $100 from some very distant relative,” she related, “he got like 1/32nd, which came to $100. We used it to buy a refrigerator.”

“What did you do before you had it?” I asked, still a little disoriented.

“Well, it was Alaska,” she said. “We had these sort of pantries that had shelves with little holes opening to the outside, covered with screen to keep out insects and mosquitos, but it would let in the cool air. It didn’t get that hot, even in the summer. In the winter, we had shelves on the outside porches, too.”

Holy smokes, I thought to myself. How would I function without a refrigerator? We would have to go back to shopping every day. If there weren’t refrigerators, maybe stores wouldn’t have frozen sections, too? Maybe we would have to be buying meat just as it was slaughtered, only vegetables that could travel from not too far without refrigeration, we would be using a lot more grains and things that didn’t need refrigeration to preserve them.

Maybe we would be drying more foods? We would probably, in Kuwait, be eating more dates and rice, eating more locally raised foods – what, sheep? camel meat? We would probably be eating a lot more fish. We would probably go back to canning foods while they were abundant – tomatoes, fruit jams, maybe we would even pickle some fish and/or shrimp for out-of-season eating. Our food might be saltier, as salt is also a preservative. Maybe we would eat more rice, more pomegranate . . . maybe occasionally a boat would come in from Ethiopia or Kenya bringing rare coffee beans, and only very special, very lucky people would have access to the little luxury we all take for granted.

Ooops. Well, I am getting carried away. I was so amazed to hear my mother had initially kept house without a refrigerator that I sort of spaced out.

She went on to tell me that as she was growing up, her family had an ice box, and they would put out a special piece of paper when they needed ice from the ice man, who would drive by every day to provide ice for the cool-boxes. The ice came in different sizes, depending on the size of the ice box.

(I found this picture and a fairly clear explanation of ice boxes on on Wikipedia.)

It gets better. As I was reading the Wikipedia information, I came across the Pot in Pot refrigerator , known in Arabic as a “zeer” for which Mohammed Bah Abba was awarded a Rolex Laureate (Rolex Awards for Enterprise) in 2000. You can read about Mohammed Bah Abba, the Nigerian teacher who developed this simple, but effective refrigeration technique, by clicking on the blue type above. You can read more about the Zeer pot, and see a photo of how they work, by clicking here: Science in Africa.

August 18, 2008 - Posted by | Alaska, Family Issues, Financial Issues, Food, Generational, Health Issues, Hygiene, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Random Musings, Technical Issue

20 Comments »

  1. […] Original Greenslade | guardian.co.uk […]

    Pingback by “We Didn’t Have a Refrigerator” | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. lets hope momfi never stored/cooled anything on yellow snowf

    Comment by Mrm | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. Mrm – LLLOOOLLLL! I’m going to match you up with daggero; you both have a wicked, edgy, light hearted sense of humor!

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  4. i KNEW it! u ARE trying to fimf me out!

    Comment by Mrm | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  5. you really got carried away… but kinda solved it without the refrigerator LOL

    Comment by Ansam | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  6. Yes, Mrm, but I am very, very selective. 🙂

    I really did get carried away – but Ansam, I was BLOWN away. Ask your grandmother about her first refrigerator, I dare you! And then tell us about it!

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  7. Wow…
    Sometimes I wish we lived like our parents did. Maybe would appreciate life a little more…

    Comment by iRise | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  8. iRise – It is a fascinating line of thought. Talk with your grandmother, and ask her what her early life was like. You will hear amazing things.

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  9. I can’t imagine how it would be like now, its like saying imagine that we don’t have computers anymore.. life would be empty! hehe.. not really but it would get time to get used to =p

    Comment by N. | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  10. intlxpatr

    i need to granted indemnity here to comment on the fridge post

    Comment by daggero | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  11. N – I think it would change our lives completely, not having refrigeration.

    daggero – I would never dream of granting indemnity, but I have never even had to cut one word of your comments. Take a risk. I think you’ll be OK

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  12. I liked how you got carried away 🙂 your parents are very smart for managing without a refrigerator.

    Comment by Yousef | August 20, 2008 | Reply

  13. Can you imagine, Yousef? I couldn’t. When I started thinking about it, it just put me in a daze. Life would be so different.

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 20, 2008 | Reply

  14. Alright lets take a risk ,but keep in mind that i don’t mean to be disrespectful to your family in anyway( note no.1) ,agreed ????OK

    intlxpatr you really surprised when you said that your mom dropped a bombshell,and you had no idea she could catch you by surprise that way.

    My heart sank to my feet, blood rushed to my head and the hair on the back of my neck stood like a hedgehog, what could it be, i wondered?? what dark secret family secret that was about to be revealed then it came out in the open? it was a white secret, the family started without a fridge .

    ohhhhhhh, what a load off my mind , it was a fridge only, a fridge, it is not like other dark secrets shared between a mom and a daughter in an intimate setting, sharing the inner most family secrets like ” Honey do you know when your Dad and I got married your dad didn’t have a penis? ” quick read note no.1 above , that kind of a secret would definitely send me reeling. So i can live with a fridge for a secret .

    Fridges were mentioned in Golda Meir memoirs , as she visited the Kubotz she noticed that the Jews coming from European countries were living as partners and didn’t get married and had ice boxes for keeping the food, so in order to get them to marry and increase the population she ordered the government to buy electric fridges and told the unmarried people that if they got married they will get a free fridge as a gift from the government, and it worked, so much for marrying out of love .

    Mrm, the yellow snow was used for making slush puppies drinks in those days, i wonder if you will ever order a yellow slush puppy again next time your at the mall.

    Intlxpatr whats to match us both up, although i am married but i don’t mind a second wife if you are game .Maybe we will get our selves one of those new fangled marriage contracts sort of Drive-by-Marriages, called Misyar مسيار where the woman stays in her own home and the husband passes by but doesnt sleep over ,it is all the rage now in Saudi Arabia .

    Intlxpatr, Let me finish off with a racy joke in Arabic for your Arabic viewers ,

    واحد غبى فتح ثلاجة أضطر يتزوجها

    Well fridges got going today who would’ve thought that !!!

    Comment by daggero | August 20, 2008 | Reply

  15. OK, Daggero, you walked a very fine line and I only cleaned up one tiny little thing; you will know what it is. If any of my Arabic readers write and tell me to take out that last line quickly, I will. I sure wish I knew what it said.

    LOL, every family has it’s nuclear explosion secrets. This was just a minor bomb, but it still resounded in my mind, even though no one was injured! It started a whole train of thought.

    You know, I have had friends in plural marriages. I never saw a happy one. Every woman had concerns about who was getting the most nights, most attention, best vacations, and every one was very very worried about protecting their children and their rights if anything should happen to the father. It was a blessing to me to have their friendship, and for them to share their innermost concerns with me like that, it gave me new things to think about.

    The misyar might not be such a bad thing IF it is what the woman wants. I worry when it is an arrangement that the girl / woman’s family makes. There is all the difference in the world, isn’t there?

    Honestly, Daggero, I have my hands full with AdventureMan – I could not begin to handle being married to two men, but thanks for the offer!

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 20, 2008 | Reply

  16. Intlxpatr;

    i did ask for immunity first , but was denied that privelge.it is a joy to be able to walk that line without seriously offending , i really appreciate your sense of accomodation

    about the marriage proposal ,thats it! you must add a preview function to your blog , thanks for declining me but the offer was for Mrm , you can still tell Adventure man about it . It should keep him on his toes for a while .

    Any posts about the family oven soon ???

    Comment by daggero | August 20, 2008 | Reply

  17. LLOOOLLLL, daggero!

    Oddly, tonight Mom did mention the oven – she was saying that in their first, tiny little house, she had a diaper service when I was born, but that she washed my little baby clothes in the sink, then hung them on a clothes rack by the old oil stove in the kitchen, so that they would dry.

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 21, 2008 | Reply

  18. Intlxpatr ;

    Maybe you have posted about this before , but what was dad doing for a living in Alaska at the time ?? How long you stayed there

    Comment by daggero | August 21, 2008 | Reply

  19. My Dad had worked on a ship during WWII and loved Alaska; he was up there setting up the Alaska communications system. My Mom was working, I think, for the Forest Service, fresh out of university, when they met. I was actually there when Alaska became a state. I was born there . . . sometimes on civil service applications, I was tempted to check “native Alaskan” because, technically, I was, being born an Alaskan!

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 21, 2008 | Reply

  20. intlxpatr :

    thanks for the info , very interesting , we hear of alaska all the time ,but first time we meet in cyberspace a native white alaskan

    Comment by daggero | August 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment