Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Days Weeks and Months Stats

WordPress knows what it is doing, and knows what WordPress users want. They know what I want even before I know I want it.

Like sometimes I might idly wonder “I wonder if every month my readership builds?” but I don’t even wonder enough to write to WordPress and ask them to do it. But they read my mind, and they do it anyway!

So today WordPress has introduced a new feature Days, Weeks and Months. (They called their article Good Charts Come in Threes). When you are looking at your day-by-day statistics, you can also click on Weeks or Months and see the broader trends.

Has my readership been growing? Yes, but it’s not a steady upward curve. I had a huge peak in December, with all the Thanksgiving and Christmas recipes.

And those old favorites are still racking up the numbers!

Christmas Divinity Candy gets a respectable number of hits every month, along with Mom’s Fruit Cake Recipe and Mayonnaise, Aioli and Rouille.

When I blog on social or political issues, I get a huge number of hits for a day or two, and then maybe one or two a month, as people look for specific articles later.

A big all time stat builder, however, and a big surprise to me, was Tudo’s Vietnamese Restaurant in Pensacola.

The Robin Pope Safari series:

Hiking with Robin Pope in Zambia, Part 1

Hiking with Robin Pope in Zambia, part 2

Hiking with Robin Pope in Zambia, Part 3

Hiking with Robin Pope in Zambia, Part 4

I wrote that series back in October, when I had been blogging barely over a month, and no-one noticed. Then, all of a sudden, in June, someone spotted it and published it in their newsletter. How did I know? All of a sudden this obscure series had hits that climbed as I watched. How funny.

What totally strikes me as funny is that the immediate response is no indicator of the long term response, and so I am also very thankful to WordPress that you can click on a specific post and track it’s popularity over it’s life-history. That’s where you find the above surprises.

And I still really like the ability to take a look back over the previous seven days, and the previous 30 days. The posts YOU think are the best are not always the posts with “legs”, i.e. the posts that will continue to get hits long after they are published.

WordPress, Woooooo Hooooooo. You totally ROCK.

August 22, 2007 - Posted by | Blogging, Communication, Customer Service, News, Statistics, WordPress

3 Comments »

  1. I just wanted to tell you how much I appreciated this extremely helpful post. I didn’t know those features were available on my wordpress blog, and you helped me find just what I had been wondering myself! Thanks! I started my Middle Eastern education blog about a month ago, and found this new information extremely helpful.

    I found your blog today, and found many of the issues discussed extremely relevant. I would have liked to comment on your story about the teacher detained in K….t, but felt afraid, since I also live in the Middle East. Anyway, I have signed up for your RSS feed.

    Eileen
    Dedicated Elementary Teacher Overseas (in the Middle East)
    elementaryteacher.wordpress.com

    Comment by elementaryteacher | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. I agree with you that posts that seemingly get little response can take off weeks or months later. Some posts that you wonder if anyone will notice can get the most hits.

    With all of the healthy food recipes, I hesitated to post pie recipes or a spaghetti sauce recipe that included meatballs. But, those, especially the spaghetti sauce are my mainstays.

    However, your site has such a variety of topics and just the fact that you are an American living in a different culture from the one you grew up in, makes for fascinating reading.

    Keep it up!

    Comment by jolynna | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  3. Jolyna, you are one of my favorite visitors! And I love the photos of you and your granddaughter cooking on your blog! And your articles about your cats. And your thoughts about your new life!

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 23, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment