Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Big Red

Adventure Man and I have an agreement. We leave each other’s lives alone. Like I don’t try to tell him how he should work (I do try to tell him how to drive, or how not to drive, he hates it and I can’t help it; I don’t want to die!) and he doesn’t tell me how to run the house (but he does make “helpful suggestions”, he can’t help it.) We cut each other a lot of slack – it’s the only way you can stay married for a long time.

He monitors my blog closely. I don’t mind, he is like my personal security agency, making sure I don’t tell you too much about myself. I know he is protecting us and I honor that. It also helps me to think about what I am writing as I write – he has never asked me to change anything, but the awareness that he is watching helps me remember to be careful.

But I draw the line at him telling me what to blog. Here is what I say:

GET YOUR OWN BLOG, ADVENTURE MAN!

Yesterday he brought me some Big Red, with a complaint and with a compliment. Many of us in our family are addicted to Big Red, a cinnamon chewing gum. I like it because I drink coffee, and coffee can make your breath bad. Adventure Man just likes it because he likes it.

00bigred.jpg

“This Big Red is not the same!” he complained. “It tastes wrong!”

I tasted it and I thought it tasted normal, but I have been buying Big Red here for a while and maybe my “normal” has gotten skewed.

“And look!” he said, triumphantly “Big Red is supposed to be RED!”

And he was right – this Big Red is WHITE?? How can that be??

But here is the compliment – look what is printed on each individual gum wrapper. (You have to read it from left to right!)

00br2.jpg

Pretty cool, huh? And this blog entry is for you, Adventure Man.

September 4, 2007 - Posted by | Blogging, Cross Cultural, Entertainment, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Living Conditions, Marriage, Random Musings, Relationships

8 Comments »

  1. Wifey introduced me to Big Red, I’m a smoker & coffee drinker…but I like it..it’s pretty nice.

    Oi Adventure Man! Get your own blog! It’s one great way to vent about wife (or wives if you’re into that!). 😉

    intlxpatr: ever tried using cat repellents? I found one on Amazon & was wondering if it’s worth buying. Need to keep the brat (gabby) out of the plants.

    Comment by Я | September 4, 2007 | Reply

  2. R – how do you make the R go backward like that?

    And which blogger is your wifey?

    I am hoping one day Adventure Man WILL blog, and write down all his great adventures. He’s had a few! And he is a GREAT writer. He just has never had the time, but one day I think he will.

    Cat repellants – I have NEVER found one that works! But cats don’t like citrus – orange, grapefruit, lime, lemon, especially lemon, so sometimes spraying with lemon scent will keep them away.

    But chicken wire will keep Gabby out of plants. They hate the feel on their feet. Make it kind of crinkled up, so you can water through it. She will HATE it.

    To keep them from scratching furniture, first make a TALL (about 1 metre) scratching post from a 4 x 4 or (2) 2×4’s wrapped with thick rope, on a plywood board about 1metre squared. It has to be tall so they can stretch as they claw (think how they like trees) and wide enough to be firm, and not move around, so they will like using it. Make a tea of catnip in hot water, and paint the scratching post with it.

    Where they have seemed to like scratching, put long strips of double sided sticky tape (I actually have bought these in pet stores, and they really work. They are semi-invisible and the cats HATE touching sticky stuff with their paws.

    You cats really WANT to behave – they WANT you to love them – so you have to find ways to help them learn what you want.

    They hate loud noise – clapping hands loudly and yelling “No!” or rolling a newspaper and hitting the floor. As you know, hitting a cat is counter-productive, it just doesn’t work, they don’t understand. But it’s better to find ways to encourage them to do right – they want your approval. It’s your strength dealing with them, that they really want to be good.

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 4, 2007 | Reply

  3. Hehehe. You’ve just gotten European Big Red :D.

    The US-made stuff is red and very spicy. The European stuff, which is what I find in Beirut, Amman, etc., is white and less spicy.

    At first I found the Euro Big Red a bit bland. Now that I’m chewing the American version again, I must confess: its burning my tongue :P.

    Comment by adiamondinsunlight | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  4. Aha! I was waiting for you to weigh in! So Adventure Man is right! I was shocked when he pointed out it was white – I hadn’t even noticed. Most of the time, I am in the car, stitcking the gum in my mouth on my way to a meeting or something, just so my breath will be sweet. I guess I have gotton used to the European version, and that makes sense – they find out cinnamon hard candies too strong, too.

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  5. Я <– This is how you make it backwards. 😀

    I guess you found my wifey 😉

    I’m sure he’ll start blogging one day, the grandkids won’t listen to the grandpa’s old war stories like before anymore. Let him blog it, sure fire way of having the grandkids read it with fascination hehe.

    I didn’t know cats didn’t like citrus, I’ll give it a shot. I already have a scratching post for them. Mouse knows the word “No” pretty well now. Only Gabby is a headache, I use a loud “NO!” with a squirt of water from a spray to make her see the point. That’s one recommended way of preventing your cat from doing something wrong, just squirt it with water (but never in the face!).

    I’ll ask wifey if she wants to chicken wire the plants or not hehe, it’s her domain not mine!

    Comment by Я | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  6. Я – I did! I found her!

    Oh yeh, I’d forgotten the squirt bottle thing. We have a couple around, but the QC is so good now, we never have to use them!

    Crinkled foil might also work in the plants, instead of chicken wire . . .

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  7. i like gum and coffee, i like chewing gum while drinking coffe, i like chewing gum when smoking too but i like the dark green extra gum more than big red hehe

    Comment by princess | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  8. No, Princess, I don’t know what the dark green extra gum is? Like DoubleMint?

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 5, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment