Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Ramadan Shopping: Breaking the Code

Finally, this morning, I was able to do some shopping. We are talking desperate, here, no eggs left in the house, no onions and we are getting low on milk.

I shopped on Thursday, the first day of Ramadan, with no problems. Since then, I have tried to shop Friday after church, and Saturday around two in the afternoon – both times, just the crunch in the parking lot convinced me not to even venture into the store. This was true both at the Sultan Center and at the co-op.

One friend told me that a good time is around 4 in the afternoon, but that is low energy time for me, and time when I need to be thinking about what kind of dinner I am going to get on the table. That’s not a real good time for me to be shopping. And it would also mean being on the road at a time when there seems to be a lot of traffic, which I avoid. I honor your fast, and at the same time, late in the day, your low blood sugar, sleep deprivation and caffein deprivation make you dangerous!

(once again I have given up bad language – this time as my Ramadan “fast”. If you will remember, I gave it up for Lent, and I’ve continued to do fairly well, but Ramadan is a good time to practice some additional spiritual discipline.)

But this morning, I had thought I would try eight in the morning, but there was a lot of traffic. I waited until nine, and it turned out to be a good time – the produce store was being re-stocked, there were eggs, there was milk, there was everything I needed. I wasn’t the only one there, there were a few other women, but it was a cake walk, relatively speaking. I’ve broken the code!

September 16, 2007 - Posted by | Community, Cultural, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Ramadan, Shopping, Spiritual

11 Comments »

  1. I usually go shopping after iftar, when everyone is in a stupor. Any plans for halloween & xmas? 🙂

    Comment by Я | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  2. lol I find that many women are sleeping in the mornings right now (I’d like to join them, wallah, I’m exhausted!) so that could be why the malls/co-ops/Sultan centre’s are a little quieter – good planning to go at that time! I’ll try to drag myself out of bed earlier tomorrow and do the same thing…but right now, I’m up so late after praying taraweeh and then spending some time with the family that I don’t get to bed often till close to fajr, and 9am is EARLY!

    As for the dangerous driving around futoor time, I wanted to share something I saw the other day in Al Rai. There was a traffic jam – an accident had happened I think, I saw firetrucks and a big oil tanker with “DANGEROUS” written all over the side, it was on it’s side and the cap was smashed in, not good..and the lineup was backed up into oblivion. Cars bumper to bumper, and it’s futoor time. I saw a group of young men going from car to car, offering dates. Subhan Allaah. May Allaah (SWT) bless those men for their thoughtfulness!

    I too, keep dates/water in my car during Ramadhaan so that if we’re stuck in traffic, for any reason, that we can break our fasts.

    I really feel for the muslims who are, right now, weaning themselves from caffeine addictions and smoking addictions and who didn’t eat a proper suhoor, and who aren’t used to fasting (muslims who regularily fast, like on mondays and thursdays as according to the sunnah, as well as a lot of the month of sha’baan (last month) don’t struggle so much!) No wonder they’re cranky and irritable and driving like maniacs – may Allaah (SWT)give them peace and show them a better way to live, a better way to fast. Our world would be a happier, safer place insha Allaah.

    Comment by Huda | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  3. you are right.. I NEED COFFEEE!! pLSLSLSLS!

    I gues bestest time to shop is either right before Iftar since people are busy eating or right after Iftar since people are digesting! Or late at night if you manage to stay up late 🙂

    Comment by chikapappi | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  4. haha well done youve cracked it!

    yeah, no matter what it is you want to get done, be it ministry or banking or shopping, there’s an ideal time window that exists between 930ish to about 1030-1100 where the traffic is relatively light on the main highways.

    you do still have to pick the right ones to avoid the worst of it, but most days i manage to get things done in that little window with the minimum of fuss.

    even the banks on a sunday are pretty empty during that window.

    Comment by sknkwrkz | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  5. Я! You are so bad. As it happens, I have already started the Christmas shopping (dont’ like to get hit with all at once) but we will be here for both.

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  6. I love the story, Huda. Isn’t it amazing what a little kindness can do? It could have been a nightmare, and they used it as an opportunity to do good. Thank you for telling us here.

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  7. Chikapappi – Hang in there, dear one! Coffee time is coming! You’re doing great!

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  8. Skunk, if YOU say I found the right window, then I know I’ve done good! And I do my best to avoid driving any time other than that morning time, now.

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  9. Same here, we’re going to start with our Christmas shopping soon. I suppose we will still be here too for both, I think wifey still wants to dress me up as Santa this year…belly & all. Ho! Ho! Ho! 😉

    Comment by Я | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  10. Wait! Wait! Я, how about tiny little Santa costumes for Mouse and Gabriella, so they can be Santa’s (very) little helpers? ? ? Ho Ho Ho! BTW, I DO have a Santa suit for you!

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 17, 2007 | Reply

  11. […] Intlxpatr also writes about breaking the code and finding the right time to shop in Ramadan. Finally, this morning, I was able to do some shopping. We are talking desperate, here, no eggs left in the house, no onions and we are getting low on milk. I shopped on Thursday, the first day of Ramadan, with no problems. Since then, I have tried to shop Friday after church, and Saturday around two in the afternoon – both times, just the crunch in the parking lot convinced me not to even venture into the store. This was true both at the Sultan Center and at the co-op. […]

    Pingback by Global Voices Online » Ramadaning in Kuwait | September 24, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment