Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Tagged by This Lady

Some tags are silly, but fun. This one . . . someone took some time. These questions are genuinely thought provoking. Thanks for tagging me, Lady.

*Do your closest friends have any nicknames for you? No. If they do, they don’t use it to my face! But when I have grandchildren, I am going to be called “Shisha.” I won’t tell you why, but it has nothing to do with smoking.
*What would your ex-(boyfriend/girlfriend/spouse) say about you in one sentence? “Life just isn’t the same without you.”
*What is the greatest achievement of your life so far? Staying married for years and years and years, and producing a son who is a successful adult. Sharing the triumphs of his graduation(s) and career and marriage with his father/ my husband.
*How should people think of sex in this, the 21st century? Often, and with joy.
*Where would you live if anywhere was possible? If anything were possible, I would live in a house with a view of the sea and mountains.
*Is there a religion that’s fulfilling for you and/or the masses? I am a Christian, and one who has come to believe that the ultimate truth will be a grand adventure. We all have glimpses, and we are limited. One day, we will see clearly, and not “through the glass, darkly.”
*What inspires awe in your life’s experience? People who create something out of nothing. People with vision who make things happen.
*What was/is your best pick-up line? The most interesting women don’t need a line; they are good listeners.
*What and when is the most potent emotion you’ve ever experienced and why? Anger. I am not an angry person, but once I knew I could kill to protect my son. On the very rare occasion when I get angry, my anger scares me, my primitive nature scares me.
*On what occasions do you act self-absorbed or just plain selfish? When I am tired past being able to sleep, or sick past being able to be gracious, or depressed beyond my ability to fight on. Then I need quiet, and rest, and miso soup, and to just curl into a ball until it’s passed.
*If someone assigned you a quest, or if you decided your own, what would you be looking to find? I would want to find the secret to helping us all just get along.
*If you had to choose between them, would you live in Hollywood, Washington D.C. or New York, and why? Oh please! Spare me. Neither!
*Who or what makes you feel “whole”? I feel whole when my spiritual life, my family life and my friend-life are all in order.
*Where is your greatest opportunity for change? I love living in places where my husband and I can walk. I feel the need for walking as exercise.
*What do you consider to be the greatest opportunity for humankind? To learn to live together, and to find a fair way to allocate resources.
*What surprises you about getting older? The betrayals of the body. Inside, you are still young!
*What or who makes you feel younger or rejuvenated? Walking, a good haircut, a great conversation.
*Where or when do you feel most alone? When my husband and I disagree.
*Where or how is society most ripe for change? When people are willing to step forward and take their part in making changes.
*Do you think of yourself as attractive to the opposite sex? πŸ˜‰
*When or where do you feel the most free? In Seatttle, on the west coast, women are about as close to being equal people as I have ever hoped to see. I feel most free there.
*What is the greatest memory of your life to date? The night I discovered my brain had not turned to jello during childbirth and child-raising. You can read about it here.
*Where and when did you find out who you really are? A female mentor laughed and said “you have no idea yet what you are capable of” and I was so shocked I decided to start finding out.
*How and when do you collect your thoughts and why? I take a bath. I wash off any defilement and pray for discernment.
*If someone told you when and where you would die, what would you do immediately after being told? I would thank God for the many many blessings he has given me, especially seeing our son dance at his wedding, and living happily, and for the years I have had with my husband, and the lively and exciting life we have had together, then I would make lunch dates with my dearest friends one-on-one, to say goodbye and thank them for their contributions to my life.
*What are the best parts of being in love? Learning how many many kinds of love their are, and that love is a verb, and a choice.
*What’s your favorite libation (a drink offered to a god)? I really like coffee! And ginger beer (it is not really beer)
*What “life philosophies” have you adopted since you’ve become an adult? Serve God first, live life so that you have no regrets, stay out of debt, invest for the future, life’s true riches are the blessings of the angels God sends you in family and friends and even brief moments of connection with others.
*How would you like to be remembered? I would love for people to say “Whoa! She was a pistol!” πŸ™‚

I TAG star blogger FONZY, Kuwait’s premier blogger Don Veto, sweet True Faith, Touche, who thinks outside the box, Chirp, because I want to know the answers, and a blogger I think is going to have a very interesting life, MirimtheMirim. I also tag my niece, Beiruti-blogger Little Diamond.

January 7, 2008 - Posted by | Blogging, Community, Cross Cultural, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Health Issues, Humor, Marriage, Tag

17 Comments »

  1. Ouch, I do’t like to reveal personal things about myself on my blog, it might come and haunt me later in life. But just for you, I will try to answer the tag.

    Comment by Don Veto | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. I didn’t think you did. And I am thankful that you will. Thank you, Don Veto.

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. “Where or how is society most ripe for change? When people are willing to step forward and take their part in making changes.” << Great answer πŸ™‚

    It will be my next post πŸ™‚

    Comment by True Faith | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  4. hmmmmmmmmmmm i do NOT do tags… but since it is u, i will make an exception πŸ™‚ and thanks for referring to me as a star πŸ˜›

    Comment by Fonzy | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  5. True Faith – You know how PROUD I am of you. πŸ™‚

    Fonzy – I was so hoping you would make an exception for me.

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  6. done and posted πŸ™‚

    Comment by Fonzy | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  7. This is the first time I have been tagged by anyone believe it or not, Im a tad shy…

    But for Pioneer Queen, Intlx, it shall be done!

    PS – I like the idea of being grouped with bloggers, Don Veto, Fonzy, True Faith et all – its good company.

    Comment by amer | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  8. LLLOOOLLLL, Amer! Hard for me to believe you’ve never been tagged! Wow!

    Yeh, I chose people who I think of as quiet leaders. People who set the example, who encourage, and who build a better world one block (or one blog!) at a time.

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  9. Very nice ! Every question so well answered !

    Comment by 'GreY' | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  10. It’s probably one of the most thought-provoking tags I have ever done, GreY. Did you feel that way when you did it? I didn’t feel threatened, or like I was revealing anything harmful about myself, not anything that would identify me.

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  11. this lady tagged me on this one also…its 3.40pm, still in my pajamas hold a cup of cold coffee…i will try to do it once im not so swamped inshalla, k? πŸ˜› lol

    Comment by Mrm | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  12. Mrm – K. Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahah!

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  13. Mine also πŸ™‚

    http://don-veto.blogspot.com/2008/01/tag-from-intlxpatr.html

    Comment by Don Veto | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  14. Thank you! πŸ™‚

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  15. I think my answers were too sarcastic and tongue in cheek for Intlx ~~~ but I had no choice!

    Comment by amer | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  16. “These are the times that try men’s souls . . ” I just figured you had other, more serious things, on your mind, Amer.

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  17. The answer of pick-up line is great! I’ll learn from it πŸ˜€

    Comment by Joel | January 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment