Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Friday Lunch with AdventureMan at Assaba

After all these years, we know each other so well.

“Where are we going to eat today?” he asks as we leave church.

“It’s your turn to choose” I tell him.

“No, no, it’s your turn,” he insists, “I chose Ruby Woo’s last Thursday night.”

“No. You didn’t. I did,” I tell him, and remind him that I also chose another place later in the week, but it was a place that he really likes.

What he wants me to do is to throw out my idea and then he shoots it down. Sometimes I throw out three ideas, and he shoots them all down!

“What are you in the mood for, what kind of food?” I ask him. Usually he doesn’t like a lot of meat, so I am surprised, really surprised, when he says Lebanese. When we lived in Kuwait, he almost never chose Lebanese except for Tanureen, where they had such good fish.

“Yeh, but now there is no good Lebanese restaurant near where I work,” he replies, “and I am missing Lebanese food.”

I know just the place. My two pool buddies took me to lunch there back in January when I visited. I THINK I know how to get there, and, as it turns out, I do! (It’s always a disaster trying to find a place when your husband is really, really hungry.) It’s called Assaba, and it is like entering a different world. They’ve taken a very humdrum building, and re-facaded and decorated the ground level and one flight up to resemble a Lebanese Village. It is a lot of fun.

We ordered mostly mezze (appetizers) and an order of shish taouk to share. (Shish taouk is boneless chicken pieces that have been marinated in lemon juice and a little garlic and yoghurt, for those who don’t know about it. It is delicious, and often served with a mighty garlic – mayonnaise. )

We agreed that the very very best dish of all was the Mohammara, a dish made of finely chopped walnuts, red peppers and a few other things. (Mishary, on Some Contrast, printed a great recipe.)

00Muhammara

We had hummous with something that tasted a little like liver, and baba ghanoush, and meatless chickpea moussaka:

something

00Moussaka

00Selection

And this is how the shish taouk looks when it arrives, with hot bread to keep it warm:
00ShishTaouk

It was a magnificent meal. We ate too much. It was just so pleasant, sitting there, great food, beautiful surroundings, us all relaxed after church and mellow. AdventureMan came back from washing his hands all excited – “You’ve got to go use the Ladies Room! See if they have a beaten copper sink! I want one of those!”

I did, and this is what it looks like:

00BathroomSink

I think we might have to take another trip to Damascus, and bring it back with us. Do you know what a designer in the US would charge us for a sink like that?? We can go, find a sink, spend time in a city we love and come back for what the cost of the sink would be in the US.

I want the door:
00Door

I think I had better have it made here!

Here is the shower he wants, from Robin’s House at Nkwali Camp, in Zambia:

00Robin'sShower

Even Friday lunch with AdventureMan is an adventure. 🙂

June 20, 2009 - Posted by | Adventure, Africa, Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, Doha, Eating Out, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Food, Living Conditions, Qatar

6 Comments »

  1. finally food pics 🙂

    that should not be liver on the homos,but meat.

    Comment by Purgatory | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. I went to Mees Alghanem, so don’t think your the only one who had HOMOS yestadaaaai!

    Comment by Neoark | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  3. LLLOOLLL, Purg, sometimes there are just too many people around and I am shy. Sometimes we are with other people, and I don’t want to distract from the good conversation and time together. Sometimes, we are just too hungry, and I forget! This time, thank God, my husband reminded me to take photos. We thought of YOU. 🙂 Yes, it was meat, but it tasted sort of liver-y. Isn’t liver a meat?

    Oh! Oh! Neoark, Mais al Ghanim! That is great chow at reasonable prices. What else did you have?

    Comment by intlxpatr | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. depends how they cook it, but should not be liver.

    liver is not meat, its liver ;p

    thanks for considering me when eating 🙂

    Comment by Purgatory | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  5. Ah some good old food shots! been a while since I had Lebanese food. Liver is not meat, its in the category of “offal” 😛

    Comment by Mathai | June 21, 2009 | Reply

  6. LLOOLL, Purg, LLLOOOLLLL, Mathai!

    Comment by intlxpatr | June 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment